1951 – “The Day The Earth Stood Still” is released

The Day The Earth Stood Still” was a milestone in the history of the cinema. It was perhaps the first truly serious science fiction movie, and certainly the first such film to acheive mainstream success. Before it, and for the most part, after it, science fiction films were b-movies. “The Day The Earth Stood Still” changed that.

Its combination of serious social critique with the tropes of science fiction cinema was a shocking break from the previously accepted notions of filmic science fiction cinema. It remains one of the most influential films ever made, and not merely within its own genre or medium – when Ronald Reagan was President, he made references to the warring nations of Earth uniting against an extra-terrestrial threat, appparently inspired by his viewings of “The Day The Earth Stood Still“. More recently, 2009’s “District 9” has shown that the science fiction film as social commentary is alive and well.

Referenced in:

Science Fiction Double Feature – Rocky Horror Picture Show original cast

The Day the Earth Stood Still (1951)

 The Day the Earth Stood Still (1951) DVD | Blu-ray | Download

Score Tracklist:

  1. Fox Logo (Alfred Newman)
  2. Outer Space / Radar
  3. Danger
  4. Klaatu
  5. Gort/the Visor/the Telescope
  6. Escape
  7. Solar Diamonds (Not Used In Film)
  8. Arlington
  9. Lincoln Memorial
  10. Nocturne/the Flashlight/the Robot/space Control
  11. The Elevator/magnetic Pull/the Study/the Conference/jewelry Store
  12. Panic
  13. The Glowing/alone/gort’s Rage/nikto/the Captive/terror
  14. The Prison
  15. Rebirth
  16. Departure
  17. Farewell
  18. Finale
  19. Alternate Theremin Mixes
  20. Studio Rehearsals and Outtakes

The Day the Earth Stood Still (2008)

The Day The Earth Stood Still (2008)DVD | Blu-ray | Download

Score Tracklist:

  1. Stars
  2. Mountain Climber
  3. National Security
  4. This Is Not an Exercise
  5. Do You Feel That?
  6. Military Approach
  7. G.O.R.T
  8. Surgery
  9. Interrogation
  10. You Should Let Me Go
  11. A Friend to the Earth
  12. Fighter Drones
  13. Came to Save the Earth
  14. I’m Staying
  15. Helen Drives
  16. Containing G.O.R.T
  17. The Day the Earth Stood Still
  18. They’re Not Afraid of Us
  19. Flash Chamber
  20. Helicopter Collision
  21. See My Son
  22. Cemetery
  23. Distress
  24. Wrong Place Wrong Time
  25. Aphid Reign
  26. Power Down
  27. He’s Leaving
  28. The Beginning

Tracks not on Soundtrack: