Marvel Timelines: The Marvel Universe

The Marvel Universe

The most popular comics universe of all time, home of Spider-Man, the Hulk, Wolverine and the X-Men, Captain America, Iron Man, Thor and Stan Lee.

1: Before Recorded History
2: The Hyborian Age
3: Historical Times
4: The Golden Age
5: The Atlas Age
6: Sliding Timeline Prequels
7: The Modern Marvel Age Begins
8: The Silver Age
9: The Late Sixties
10: The Early Seventies
11: The Late Seventies
12: The Early Eighties
13: The Mid-Eighties
14: The Late Eighties
15: The Early Nineties
16: The Mid-Nineties
17: The Late Nineties
18: The Early Noughts
19: 2004 and 2005
20: 2006
21: 2007
22: 2008
23: 2009
24: 2010
25: 2011

Pt 9 – From just after Spider Island to just before Avengers vs. X-Men
Pt 10 – From Avengers vs. X-Men onwards

21 Responses to Marvel Timelines: The Marvel Universe

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

  2. Yungafrika says:

    Yeah I really enjoy using this timeline it helps me out alot I just hope that you add more so I can continue to use this great tool because I love reading in order so I can see how events are related and I only read collected editions too so this was the perfect tool there is nothing else like it so keep it up the good work this is amazing!

  3. Incon says:

    Not sure if you’re still updating or working on this, but either way thanks for putting in the effort. Amazing work here, and it’s helped a lot in organizing my own collection.

    • Loki says:

      I’m glad you like it, and let me assure you that I haven’t stopped – it’s just a slow going kind of thing. But I’ll get there in the end – just in time, I imagine, to have a whole bunch of new stuff to add 🙂

  4. David says:

    This is brilliant. Easy to read and follow and is exactly what I was searching for. Thanks for the great effort Loki.

  5. DOOM says:

    Hey, love the resource you’ve assembled here. I look forward to watching it grow.
    I was curious if you’d given any thought to noting in what order issues appear within a certain collected edition. Most of the time it’s fairly obvious- the issues just go in order- but in certain cases it isn’t as obvious. Examples off the top of my head would be X-Necrosha, Shadowland: Street Heroes, or Dark Reign: The List.
    I ask because sometimes I like to order comics in the order that Marvel assembles their collections, but don’t want to purchase collections of comics I already have.

    Anyway, with or with out that info, I love the site!

    • Loki says:

      I generally try to list the issues in the order that they appear in the collections, but it’s not always the simplest way to list them and it would mean that I could put fewer volumes on each page of the timeline. What I have been doing instead is creating Reading Orders for particular crossovers – I’ve already done Shadowland – which show not just the reading order for particular volumes but do so in the context of the whole crossover.

      The List specials are a problem: every single one of them appears in at least two collections: the List volume itself and the relevant collections for each series, and it’s hard to avoid doubling up if you have the special as well.

      And finally, glad you’re a fan of the site: it’s nice to know I’m not the only one who cares about this stuff.

  6. Dragoniguana says:

    Thank you so much for this list! Even as a long-time fan of Marvel, it can be really hard to get the trade order straight in my head . This helps a lot. Thanks, again.

    • Loki says:

      That’s one of the reasons why I started this list – it was just too much to keep straight in my mind, especially in recent years when Marvel has done a lot of flashback mini-series to character’s earlier years. I’m glad you find it useful, and you’re very welcome.

  7. Brandon says:

    Do you plan on adding “The Rise of Apocalypse” into the timeline?

    • Loki says:

      Hi Brandon,

      I was unaware of the existence of that collection until you pointed it out, but now that I do know, I’ve added it (here). So thank you for that 🙂


      • Brandon says:

        My pleasure. You’re doing amazing work on this. I think I have another one for you. “Red Skull: Incarnate.” Happens about the same time as “Magneto: Testament.”

        • Loki says:

          That one I do know about – the only reason for its absence from the timeline is that I haven’t read it myself yet. As soon as I do, believe me, it’s going on 😉

  8. Brian says:

    I noticed that none of the Captain America Masterworks are included in the early part of the reading order. Any particular reason? Are they considered out of continuity?

    • Loki says:

      No, they’re completely in continuity, it’s just that I haven’t read them myself yet to confirm their placements. For reference, the first Captain America Masterworks reprints one of the same stories as the first Nick Fury Masterworks, so they clearly occur at around the same time.

  9. Sean says:

    This is the best website on the internet; this is my bible! Really appreciate the hard work. There isn’t a site that exists that is as complete as yours. Thank you!

  10. Idris Adams says:

    Can this timeline be used as a reading order or is it just listing all the TPB’s in the order that hey were published? Brilliant site, just not sure how to start reading!

    • Loki says:

      This timeline is intended as a reading order. As best as I can work them out, this is the order that events occurred in, rather than the order they were published in. There are a few good jump on points – the very start, the beginning of the Marvel era (page 7 of this timeline) and the immediate aftermaths of both the Siege and Avengers Vs X-Men crossovers (on Pt 7 and Pt 10, respectively) are all good places.

  11. Idris Adams says:

    Is this timeline still being updated? I understand that you’ve put a lot of work into it already but I would hate for it to stop 🙂

Leave a Reply